Mac OSX Mountain Lion, Truecrypt, NTFS and the hdiutil Error

Friday, July 26th, 2013

I tried to mount Truecrypt Volumes with NTFS partitions on my MacBook Pro running Mountain Lion 10.8.4 using an older Version of OSXFUSE and NTFS for Tuxera which I bought especially for this purpose.

Nevertheless I struggled with en error saying “hdituil: attach failed – no mountable file systems”.

hdutil truecrypt error

hdutil truecrypt error

I tried various different combinations and versions and the one that worked for me was the following:

  • OSXFUSE
    Download it from here.
  • Tuxera NTFS
    Download a Trial from here.

This is the configuration I am currently working with and it appears to be stable in several use cases. (NTFS Share with VirtualBox Windows 7 Machine, Multiple Read/Write Actions)

One comment on “Mac OSX Mountain Lion, Truecrypt, NTFS and the hdiutil Error

  1. Neal says:

    For anyone else having issues with the same problem. I had to delete the ntfs drivers from my /System/Library/Filesystems/ folder. In my case I think the ntfsfree driver was the culprit.

    Like

Leave a comment